COMBI-BLOG – We won an Award! Thank You!

7 Mar

Chopstick and Chunks here! Again!

Chunks: For the second time, here’s another ‘Chopstick and Chunks’ combi-blog. Firstly we would like to thank SociopathiCuttlefish for the wonderful nomination – he gave us this.You should check out the blog, it’s rather good. We would also like to thank our parents for this award. Without them we wouldn’t be here, obviously. Just a note – we’re thanking our parents separately; Chopstick and I are not related.

Chopstick: Like any award, this one came with some rules. Though not as ridiculous as the rules set out by the Grammy organisers, mind – no boobs? No kidding. BOOBS EVERYWHERE! Ahem. So, the rules:

You are required to thank the person who nominated you, answer the 11 questions they have asked you, nominate 11 other people and ask them 11 questions in return. According to the guidelines the Liebster award should be sent to bloggers with less than 200 followers so that new bloggers can see how awesome they are!

Please be aware that the number of followers indicated in our ‘Follow’ button to the right aren’t indicative of blog followers – they’re mostly from our collective Twitter feeds. I think we currently have <15 followers? Anyway, the questions are as follows.

Why did you start blogging?

  • Chunks: I think it was one of those spur of the moment things, we were bored and thought fuck it.
  • Chopstick: Speak for yourself. I initially wanted to start up another blog because my other one is too serious; on here, I can rant. I also wanted to use this as a weight-loss discussion platform, but that sort of died. Instead, I’m happy with this.

Why did you choose WordPress?

  • Chunks: It was the platform we were most familiar with, Chopstick had her Learnolism blog on here. It seemed the easiest thing to do.
  • Chopstick: I picked WordPress because it’s a lot easier and a lot more interactive for use. Plus, BlogSpot sucked…

How do you see your life in 10 years?

  • Chunks: Honestly? At the moment I’m not sure, we had a lecture about going into teaching the other day which threw us into battle stations but teaching sounds good to me. I’d really like to do it with deaf kids but I need to learn sign language first. Dayumm.
  • Chopstick: I’ll undoubtedly be up the duff. In seriousness, I imagine I’ll be a teacher. I’ve wanted to teach for years!

What is your favourite talent?

  • Chunks: I assume you mean a talent of my own? Uh, not sure I have a talent per se. I can make this weird noise when I push air around my mouth I guess.
  • Chopstick: My favourite talent? Hm. I’d have to say I’m proud of my ability to work people up into a hyperactive frenzy. Is that a talent?

Pizza or pasta?

  • Chunks: Pasta – much more versatile.
  • Chopstick: Definitely pizza. BBQ pizza. Feel free to deliver one to me right now, actually.

Who’s your favourite blogger?

  • Chunks: Typical Blogger or can it be a Vlogger? I tend to watch Vlogs more at the moment. So i’ll go with that one – Uh, Hank and John Green me thinks.
  • Chopstick: My favourite blogger has to be the woman who runs this. Anyone who can commit to this type of lifestyle has to be dedicated, especially after a hard break-up.

What’s your favourite blog post?

  • Chunks: Post that we’ve written or…?  I’ll go with favorite post of ours. At the moment i’m quite fond of the Uni guide posts we’re working on, not only are they pretty fun to write, they’re also useful.
  • Chopstick: If we’re going for favourite posts of ours, I would have to say that my favourite blog on here is the one where Chunks talks about our NSFW Brit Awards blog. It was excellent.

When does the Narwhal bacon?

  • Chunks: At Midnight, but I much prefer Giraffes over Narwhals….
  • Chopstick: At Midnight, obviously. (REDDIT!)

What’s your favourite recent memory?

  • Chunks: Hmm a tough-y. I think it would probably have to be when Chopstick and myself were watching Top Gear. Her TV is right in front of the window and it was foggy outside. A police car drove by and we just saw the lights – which is odd, it’s never happened before. But I then got the image in my head of a police man coming out of the fog and pressing his face into the window in a “Here’s Johnnny!” type of moment. Cue laughing for a solid 10 minutes. Also a little side note: I can’t even remember how we got to that conclusion…
  • Chopstick: Yesterday, Chunks and I were discussing presentation techniques. Let’s just say, her performance is improved if she runs around in a circle, yelling “SNIFF MY FINGERS!” (IDST).

What tips would you give to other bloggers?

  • Chunks: Don’t give up with it, I must have started at least 10 blogs in the past, and only really stuck with this one and my tumblrs. Even if you don’t have all that many followers/readers or whathaveyou, the audience will likely grow in a while there’s always someone else interested in the same things as you. As Jason Nesmith says in Galaxy Quest (Awesome film by the way):

“Never give up… Never surrender!”

  • Chopstick: I agree with Chunk’s advice. I’d also recommend posting 1001 pictures of adorable cats. 

__________

Now, here’s the eleven questions we want our eleven bloggers to answer.

  1. We all live in a ______. What is the missing word?
  2. I used to be a blogging adventurer like you, but then I took an arrow in the sorely-overused meme. Where did this meme come from?
  3. If you could list 5 things you’d never blog about, what would they be?
  4. Why blogging and not vlogging?
  5. Tell us a secret your parents don’t know about you.
  6. Can you use Chopsticks to pick up Chunks?
  7. If you could have a meal with any three people living or dead, who would they be?
  8. Is Paul dead?
  9. Coke or Pepsi?
  10. What’s number one on your bucket list?
  11. Nick Cage as Everyone: what’s your favourite?

And our tags. (Nicking some from Learnolism too.)

HealthFoodAndGreed

Kuuleilani

PlayingYourHandRight

Survival-of-the-frugal

BunnyPudding

Feel free to leave us a reply!

