(NSFW) BAFTAs in the buff?

10 Feb

For the first time in CSAC history, Chopstick and Chunks are writing together. Why is this, I hear you ask? Chunks has come over tonight for a fajitas , Top Gear and BAFTA-themed party. If you can call two people sitting on the sofa, watching TV and writing blogs a party. Anyway, here’s our preliminary estimations for tonight’s BAFTAs – but only in the categories we are actually bothered about.

Best Film

  • Argo
  • Les Misérables
  • Life of Pi
  • Lincoln
  • Zero Dark Thirty

Chopstick: I’m going to say Life of Pi for this category, mainly because of its cinematographic values. It is a gorgeous-looking film, and it’s unusual in that there’s an animated tiger as a protagonist. If that’s not cinema, I don’t know what is!

Chunks: Les Mis, admittedly musicals like this aren’t usually my bag, but I really liked this one. I tend to get distracted when watching films and then get lost, which happened when I was watching it. But when I got back on track it was rather good. Plus I had it in stereo, Chopstick singing one side of me and a mutual friend humming the tunes the other side whilst the cast were singing at the same time.

That is the whitest Indian boy I’ve ever seen – rights to 20th Century Fox.

Outstanding British Film

  • Anna Karenina
  • The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
  • Les Miserables
  • Seven Psychopaths
  • Skyfall

Chunks: Skyfall. Like I said before, musicals like Les Mis aren’t usually my choice of film. I like more action, which being a Bond film, Skyfall is full off.

Chopstick: I’ve got to agree with Chunks on this one. Skyfall is essentially the epitome of British film culture – James Bond is British, the themes of the film are British… BRITISH BRITISH BRITISH! Good lord. Anyway, I really enjoyed the film, and I didn’t get butt cramp in that like I did in The Miserables.

Mmm... Craig... - Rights to FreeMovieWallpapers.com

Mmm… Craig… – Rights to FreeMovieWallpapers.com

Leading Actor

  • Ben Affleck – Argo
  • Bradley Cooper – Silver Linings Playbook
  • Daniel Day Lewis – Lincoln
  • Hugh Jackman – Les Misérables
  • Joaquin Phoenix – The Master

Chopstick: It’s got to be Hugh Jackman. His transition from scruffy Jean Val Jean to sexy Jean Val Jean was astoundingly good, and his singing impressed me to no end. Anyone who can cry, sing and look gorgeous at the same time, that would be my vote. Jackman did a good job. And he looks awesome in the nude (although you don’t see that in Les Mis.).

Chunks: Hugh Jackman. Jackman was brilliant throughout the film, plus i’ve not seen any of the others (I don’t really have the least biased of choices).

Leading Actress

  • Jessica Chastain – Zero Dark Thirty
  • Marion Cotillard – Rust and Bone
  • Jennifer Lawrence – Silver Linings Playbook
  • Helen Mirren – Hitchcock
  • Emmanuel Riva – Amour

Chopstick: I’ve got no idea, because I haven’t seen any of them. I’m going to say Helen Mirren, though, because she’s always amazing in everything.

Chunks: Helen Mirren. End of.

Keeping the theme… – Rights to poponthepop.com

Supporting Actor

  • Alan Arkin – Argo
  • Javier Bardem – Skyfall
  • Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Master
  • Tommy Lee Jones – Lincoln
  • Christoph Waltz – Django Unchained

Chopstick: I saw Javier Bardem first in No Country for Old Men, and his performance for that completely blew me away. So when I saw him in Skyfall, I definitely wasn’t disappointed. The weird, disjointed face? The homoerotic, cheerful tension? The dapper suits and ability to shoot sexy ladies in the head? Yeah, why not? I vote Javier.

Chunks: Javier Bardem. Oooh, the homoeroticism!

This blog post is getting a little obscene, now. – Rights to BetterByThirty.com

Supporting Actress

  • Amy Adams – The Master
  • Judi Dench – Skyfall
  • Sally Field – Lincoln
  • Anne Hathaway – Les Misérables
  • Helen Hunt – The Sessions

Chopstick: Hm. Sally Field was in Cannonball Run. Now she’s in a film about one of the most famous Presidents of the US. I’m going to say that Miss Field deserves this award.

Chunks: Anne Hathaway. She was one of the reasons why I went to see it in the first place.

P.S: Note from Chunks: Chopstick had Nevermind the Buzzcocks on with Tim Westwood hosting. Stupid prick. Tim, not CS.

Take care! CS & C. x

Feel free to leave us a reply!

