The cycle of DOOM

26 Jan

Both Chopstick and myself have been on a bit of an organisational rampage today. Trying to write a list so that we can plan the rest of our lives, turns out we both want to be somewhere in the education system for the rest of our lives. We’ll know nothing else! Oh woe is us. We are both looking at a PGCE (Postgraduate Certificate in Education) which means we’ll need to be living away from home again, which in turn means we’ll need money. Apparently Student Finance will fund some of it. But I’m going to need a job (Chopstick has one at the moment, lucky cow.) and it’s not looking good.

 I’m stuck in that circle of not having had a job before, so I don’t have any references because I need a job in order to get references.  As I write this I’ve been talking to another friend who is in the same situation as me.  Here’s a direct quote from her, so it’s not just me who thinks this.

“‘experience preferred but not necessary’

IN THE DESCRIPTION

the reason why I didn’t get the job?

‘not enough experience'”

I think there needs to be something in High School where kids can get experience for things like this. But then it’ll probably all even out again meaning the experience wont count.

Now because my old College doesn’t have an e-mail address I can’t fill in a form for a job I’d really quite like, because they specifically ask for an e-mail address. I have to wait until Monday (at the earliest, I should think) for them to get back to me.

I hope the job’s still going.

 

-C

2 Responses to “The cycle of DOOM”

  1. sociopathicuttlefish January 27, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    Try voluntary work. You don’t have to do it every day, they’re usually relaxed areas, and it gets you experience plus probable references 🙂

    • ChopstickChunks January 27, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

      Aye, that’s the next step, thing is, everybody else is doing that too, so there’s nothing really going. Gosh darn it.

Feel free to leave us a reply!

