Politics and Guns, hand in hand?

19 Jan

Personally, I don’t know all that much about English politics, I know the basics, but not much in detail. I know even less about Bulgarian politics, but having seen a story about an assassination attempt during a conference, in the paper this morning I thought I’d have a quick scout around. From what I can work out, Ahmed Dogan, the guy who due to extreme luck isn’t dead yet, is leader of a liberal opposition party, Movement for Rights and Freedoms (DPS), who look out for the interests of the few Turks in Bulgaria. Now, nobody really expects to be assassinated whilst at work, and nor should anybody have to, this man was damn lucky.

During his speech, a 25 year old man, armed with a gun, (and it was later found out he was armed with two knives also) rushed the stage and pulled the trigger. It misfired. See why I said he was lucky. Before he could shoot again, Dogan managed to push the shooters hands away, had a tussle with the man until others flooded the stage to help.

But all that isn’t really what I wanted to talk about. I want to talk about what happened when those people rushed the stage, someone caught it on video, have a look first and see if you see anything wrong.

Yes, the man could have very nearly been a murderer, but once he was thrown on the floor, he seemed to be pretty secure, he wasn’t getting up in a hurry, but others were still rushing forward to try and get a swift kick, the security (I assume they’re security) were then having to deal with, not only the would be assassin, but others. That to me, just seems to make their job, that bit harder.  I don’t think it would be so bad if they were trying to help subdue the man in some reasonable way, but they just wanted to kick the shit out of him. If anything they were a hindrance.

People confuse me sometimes.

-C

Feel free to leave us a reply!

