Looking for advice? Stay safe online!

16 Jan

Chopstick here!

There’s something creepy about the Internet’s obsession with weight loss. I know I’m not one to toot, since that’s precisely what I’m doing, but I’m trying to give genuine advice that works for me. No, what I’m talking about here is the seemingly endless array of pop-up ads for things such as ‘Single mum freaks out dietitians but discovering 2-minute workout that works in 4 seconds”. It’s obviously complete bollocks, but still – there has to be people clicking for there to be so many types of this ad.

It's a scam! There are reasons people have health insurance...

It’s a scam! There are reasons people have health insurance…

People need to be aware that misleading adverts like this will not only not work, but may even cause malicious harm to your computer. There is no master cure to being overweight; you can’t get your teeth super-white using a mix of herbs and bleach, and you certainly should not be entering your card details on websites that tell you you only have to pay £650 in order to unlock the secret to everlasting life.

Here’s a little guide on what not to do when searching for advice on the Internet:

  1. Do NOT 100% believe anything you read. At the end of the day, the Internet is filled with people who search for advice and reassurance – we all want to know that we’re normal, right? However, one must bear in mind that a large number of the places one reads information on certain issues – like Yahoo! answers and Wikipedia – are editable by the public. I’m not saying that you should be paranoid about what you read on the Internet; simply be aware of the dangers. The web has opened up the opportunity for a vast number of fraudsters and scammers to take advantage of people who are off their guard because they’re browsing from the comfort of their own home. Be careful.
  2. Do NOT buy weight loss pills from the Internet unless they come from a verified source. Pills may be cheaper to purchase online, but that doesn’t mean they are what you think they are. You wouldn’t purchase tablets from a stranger in the street – think about this when you’re shopping online.
  3. Do NOT panic. Once, I had a pain in the back of my tooth, so I searched online to see if I could find a remedy. The results that flooded back were enormous. I sat reading for half an hour, with the pain intensifying because I was winding myself up in panic. According to my symptoms, I had developed tooth cancer and was only going to live for 4 more days. Don’t stress! The Internet is not a professionally-qualified doctor – if you want real advice, see your GP. I saw mine, and it turned out that I had an abscess and tonsillitis. Painful, but less scary than a cancer that would’ve killed me in four days!

Above all, be careful. Any advice we give here comes from a good place in our hearts, but nobody is suggesting that we’re entirely right – Chunks and I are simply divulging information that works for us. Stay safe, and remember: don’t get caught out in the WWWeb of deceit!

Take care! CS. x

One Response to “Looking for advice? Stay safe online!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. OpinioNews: It’s not healthy to immediately believe in Health Journalism. « Learnolism - February 11, 2013

    […] For further reading, might I re-direct you to my alter-ego blog (where swearing is okay) post that explains the exploitative nature of health scams on the internet? Yes? Brilliant. Click here! […]

Feel free to leave us a reply!

