Cheaters always prosper

10 Jan

This is a bit different to my previous posts, but as I was unpacking all of my clothes and things, I noticed that I hadn’t brought back as much as I thought even though my suitcase was full. I realised too late that it’s probably due to packing, what I’d done is just lay everything flat, which turned out to be pretty bulky. I don’t know why I did this when I know for a fact rolling clothing up uses far less space. So here’s a list of Student Life Hacks that I’ve gathered from here and there.

  • Tightly roll up clothing to fit more in the case.
  • Store bedding [Duvet sheets and the like] inside out inside one of the pillowcases, more compact, and it’s already inside of for when you attempt to make the bed.
  • Use frozen grapes instead of ice cubes in drinks. This is a great one for pre-drinking, all that chilled goodness without the watering down

  • If you have some food left over from the night before and want to reheat it, if you leave a gap in the middle it will heat more evenly.
  • If you don’t have anything other than a mobile phone and want to play music, take a glass, insert phone, badabing! homemade speaker.
  • Bad eggs float, good eggs don’t.

  • Vinegar’s a great cleaning liquid if you can’t afford the posh stuff.
  • As is lemon and also Bicarbonate of Soda
  • Get chewing gum on your clothes, put them in the freezer for an hour or so then just scrape off.
  • Need to unscrew a screw and don’t know which way? Righty tighty, lefty loosy.

And a couple of academic ones?

  • Use Wikipedia sources. Don’t quote the actual Wikipedia articles, but down at the bottom theirs a Resources section, take some of those and look them up.
  • Try Google Books before you buy core texts, sometimes Google Books has an online copy and as long as it’s referenced correctly use that.
  • Use Google Scholar when looking for Scholarly Articles, it’s rather good, and even if they don’t have the whole thing, there could be the odd page or two that’s helpful.
Feel free to leave us a reply!

