Rich? Me? Yeah right!

7 Jan

Well shit. My loan has just come through and once rent is paid off I will only have around £240 left to see me until the next loan payment in April. I am really going to have to scrimp this semester. I’ve come up with a few vague ideas for this, whilst trying to ignore my blind panic.

  1. Get a sodding job! I’m working on this one, I think previously I’ve been to picky, so it’s my own fault. I have heard of a job caring for disabled children which I’d quite like to do, but I’m going to have to apply for anything else that’s going. With little to no job experience this is going to be hard.
  2. Aim for a cheaper shopping list. I’m going to have to buy all own brands, which I don’t really mind to be honest, and I’m not really going to be able to treat myself to the odd expensive item any more. Plus I was thinking of going back to being vegetarian (I was for three years at one point) which will cut costs quite dramatically as I won’t be shelling out for meat. Plus if I could probably find cheap vegetables at the market.
  3. Shop from Approved Foods is possible. This is a great site for cheap food. There is nothing fresh on there, so I can’t be buying vegetables, but dried foods are excellent. The food may be after its sell-by date, but with most things on here, it matters very little. Energy drinks are really cheap on here too, so that’ll be good when exams come around.
  4. Have a look for other student hints and tricks. The one I have on tap at the minute is Student Money Tips which usually has deals on both food and other odds and ends. Very useful.
  5. Get an overdraft. I’ve managed so far without an overdraft and I’d really like to keep it that way, I don’t want to get into the habit of using an overdraft. Apart from the student loan, I don’t like spending what I don’t have. But at the moment it seems necessary.

Good luck to me huh?

-C.

Feel free to leave us a reply!

